Mobile Apps

Your app for smartphone and tablet

What are mobile apps?

App is the abbreviation for “application”. In comparison to a web page the main difference is that it is installed on a (mobile) device, e.g. a smartphone.
Read more
Apps, in contrast to a website, do not necessarily require an internet connection. Much of the content is offline. Features such as the camera or content such as contacts or pictures can easily be accessed.
Nowadays apps are increasingly used in a business context. Often apps are a mobile extension of an existing software system with corresponding APIs (application programming interface) to the web application, which facilitate and modernize mobile use. Stand-alone solutions are also developed by us.
Typical consumer apps can be downloaded from the App Store or from Google Play. Once they are installed they are opened via home screen. A native app is designed for a particular operating system. The operation systems are Android, iOS and Windows. The interface and the operating logic differ according to the operation system. If an app is programmed for one of the systems it is called a native app. Contrary to a native development is a cross-platform app development or the development of a hybrid app. See more at the bottom of this page.

Technologies

Android

Java

iOS

Swift
Objective-C

Windows

Windows 8/10
Windows Mobile/CE
Windows Embedded

Cross-platform/Hybrid

React Native
Cordova/PhoneGap
Xamarin

Native development vs. cross-platform

Contrary to a/The opposite to a native app development is a cross-platform development or the development of a hybrid app. In this case web technologies are being used. That means our services, the development of web applications and mobile apps merge at this point. Especially for apps with a rather simple user interface, the cross-platform solution is a very good alternative
New frameworks such as for example React Native enable development with JavaScript but use components written in Objective-C, Java or Swift to create native code. Which solution is better or more cost-efficient cannot be judged overall. Many factors are to be considered here. We are happy to consult you regarding the best solution for your app development.
Sample Projects

Apps for AOK-Magazine

Apps for AOK-Magazine

An app to simplify creating protocols

An app to simplify creating protocols

Instant Payments Showcase App

Instant Payments Showcase App

React Native App for Social Research Institute

React Native App for Social Research Institute

Interested in our work? Contact us!

You'd like to start a software project with us or talk about your idea for a start? Drop us a note; we're happy to answer all your questions.

Non-binding project request

Which services do you need?

Mobile-Apps

Ihre App für Smartphone und Tablet

Was sind Mobile-Apps?

App ist die Abkürzung für „Application“. Sie unterscheidet sich von einer Webseite insbesondere dadurch, dass sie auf einem (mobilen) Endgerät, z. B. einem Smartphone, installiert wird.
Mehr
Apps erfordern dabei im Gegensatz zu einer Website nicht zwingend eine Internetverbindung. Viele Inhalte sind offlinefähig. Auf Funktionen wie zum Beispiel die Kamera oder Inhalte wie Kontakte oder Fotos kann problemlos zugegriffen werden.
Apps kommen heute verstärkt auch im Businesskontext zum Einsatz. Häufig sind Apps hier eine mobile Erweiterung eines existierenden Softwaresystems mit entsprechenden Schnittstellen zur Webanwendung, welche den mobilen Einsatz erleichtern und modernisieren. Aber auch Stand-alone-Lösungen werden von uns entwickelt.
Typische Consumer-Apps werden im App Store oder bei Google Play heruntergeladen. Sobald sie installiert sind, können sie über den Homescreen geöffnet werden. Eine native App wird für ein bestimmtes Betriebssystem entwickelt. Die Betriebssysteme sind Android, iOS und Windows. Das Interface und die Bedienlogik unterscheiden sich je nach Betriebssystem. Wird eine App für eines der Systeme programmiert, so spricht man von einer nativen App. Einer nativen Entwicklung steht die cross-platform App-Entwicklung oder die Entwicklung einer hybriden App entgegen. Mehr dazu weiter unten auf der Seite.

Die Technologien

Android

Java

iOS

Swift
Objective-C

Windows

Windows 8/10
Windows Mobile/CE
Windows Embedded

Cross-Platform/Hybrid

React Native
Cordova/PhoneGap
Xamarin

Native Entwicklung vs. Cross-Platform

Einer nativen Entwicklung steht die cross-platform App-Entwicklung oder die Entwicklung einer hybriden App entgegen. Hier wird auf Webtechnologien zurückgegriffen. Das bedeutet, unsere Leistungen, Web-Applikationen und Mobile-Apps, verschmelzen an dieser Stelle. Insbesondere für Apps, die über ein eher simples User Interface verfügen, ist die Cross-Plattform-Lösung eine sehr gute Alternative.
Neue Frameworks, wie zum Beispiel React Native, ermöglichen die Entwicklung mit JavaScript, nutzen aber Komponenten, die mit Objective-C, Java oder Swift geschrieben sind, und erzeugen somit nativen Code.
Welche Lösung optimal oder kostengünstiger in der Entwicklung ist, lässt sich pauschal allerdings nicht beurteilen. Hier spielen viele Faktoren eine Rolle.
Wir beraten Sie gerne in Bezug auf die optimale Umsetzung für Ihre App-Entwicklung.
Projekt-Beispiele

iOS-Wetter-App für Wasser­sportler

Scan4Chem-App für das Umweltbundesamt

Medical Apps für Ärzte

Sicherheits-App für Android

Interesse? Schreiben Sie uns!

Sie möchten ein Software-Projekt mit uns starten oder über Ihre Idee sprechen? Wir freuen uns über Ihre Kontaktaufnahme!

Unverbindliche Projektanfrage

In welchen Bereichen können wir Sie unterstützen?